Q’Hubo News

Connecting you

Tears for Fears Announce First Album in 17 Years ‘The Tipping Point’: Watch New Video

On Thursday (Oct. 7), Tears for Fears announced their return to rule the world once again with their long-awaited seventh album The Tipping Point. Their first new album since 2004, The Tipping Point is a reflection of the pop rock duo’s personal and professional “tipping points” and is set to arrive Feb. 25 via Concord Records.

In anticipation, Tears for Fears duo Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith also dropped the title track and music video inspired by Orzabel’s own life and struggles with grief and the loss of a loved one. The music video, directed by Matt Mahurin, conveys the imbalance of death and disease through dark imagery.

Despite their legendary status, the band opens up about their failed attempts at artistic compromise with management suggestions to work with “hit songwriters.” Ultimately, this cycle came to a halt with Orzabel stating, “That pressure and tension divided us not just from our management, but from one another too.”

This album was created alongside Tears for Fears’ longtime collaborator Charlton Pettus, with songwriters and producers Florian Reutter and Sacha Skarbek. Smith also shared, “If that balance doesn’t work on a Tears for Fears album, the whole thing just doesn’t work. To put it in simple terms, a Tears for Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears for Fears – is the stuff we can both agree on.”

The Tipping Point is available for preorder now. Watch the video for “The Tipping Point” and find the album track list below.

The Tipping Point  track list:

1. No Small Thing
2. The Tipping Point
3. Long, Long, Long Time
4. Break The Man
5. My Demons
6. Rivers Of Mercy
7. Please Be Happy
8. Master Plan
9. End Of Night
10. Stay

Additional Tracks On The Deluxe CD Edition

11. Let It All Evolve
12. Secret Location
13. Shame (Cry Heaven)

%d bloggers like this: